Community Development


Main Phone:




8:00 - 4:30
Monday - Friday

400 Court Ave
PO Box 256
Gaylord, MN  55334

Main Courthouse

County and Community Profiles
Sibley County is a vibrant region that encompasses an area of 600 square miles with 12 square miles of this being water, it is strategically located 50 miles southwest of the Twin Cities. According to 2010 Census the population of the County is 15,226, the county consists of 7 cities (Arlington, Gaylord, Gibbon, Green Isle, Henderson, New Auburn, and Winthrop) and 17 townships.  The largest city is Gaylord (2,279) which is also the the County Seat. The County is home to a number of historic towns that have retained and valued their sense of tradition--but also actively embrace the future through their desire to grow, attract and retain a wide variety of quality businesses, industries and jobs. 

Sibley County's economy is fueled by agriculture pulling in 779 jobs in 2018, followed by Manufacturing with 686 jobs and Public Administration with 365 jobs. The County's largest employers are: Michael Foods and United Farmers Cooperative.  

Sibley County Profile

REVISED 2022 Sibley County Comprehensive Plan