Community Development


Main Phone:



Hours & Location

8:00- 4:30
Monday - Friday

400 Court Ave
PO Box 256
Gaylord, MN  55334

Main Courthouse
Amy Newsom, Community Development Program Manager

County and Community Profiles

Sibley County is a vibrant region that encompasses an area of 600 square miles of which 12 square miles is water.  It is strategically located 50 miles southwest of the Twin Cities.  According to the 2010 Census, the population of the County is 15,226.  The County consists of 7 cities, (Arlington, Gaylord, Gibbon, Green Isle, Henderson and Winthrop) and 17 townships.  The largest city is Gaylord (2,279) which is also the county seat.  The County is home to a number of historic towns that have retained and valued their sense of tradition--but also actively embrace the future through their desire to grow, attract and retain a wide variety of quality businesses, industries and jobs.

Sibley County's economy is fueled by agriculture pulling in 806 jobs in 2015, followed by Public Administration with 365 jobs, Retail with 325 jobs, and Manufacturing with 323 jobs.  The County's largest employers are Michael Foods and United Farmers Cooperative.

Sibley County Profile